AMRAD Home Page

 NOTE:  The January 2017 meeting will be held a new location, Linaspace – see below.  Also note that the January meeting is on MONDAY, January 23.  Future meetings will be held on the second Thursdays, unless otherwise stated.

Upcoming Meetings

 Recent Meetings

  • December 2016 meeting had election of Directors, and a general discussion regarding AMRAD’s future.
  • Thursday, October 13, 2016.  HacDC will be launching Spaceblimp 6, a high altitude balloon.  Ethan Waldo KF5UFH talked about reviving a dormant high altitude balloon legacy with no personal prior ballooning experience.5index
  • Tuesday, September 6, 2016,  Howard Cunningham, WD5DBC gave a presentation on Amateur Radio support for the Marine Corps Marathon
  • Thursday, August 11, 2016, there was a discussion of club projects and activities
  • Tuesday, July 26, 2016, A presentation on the Vienna Wireless Society’s Field Day 2016 operation was given.
  • Thursday, June 9, 2016, A presentation was given by Rob Williams, KJ4LWN on High Tech Radio, such at MLAT and ADS-B.  More information can be found here: June 2016 Presentation
  • FAA_NextGen_ADSB
  • Thursday, May 12, 2016.  Dave Skolnick, KO4MI, discussed Maritime Mobile communications including marine VHF, HF/SSB, Email via Pactor and Winlink
  • Thursday, April 07, 2016.  Bluetooth wireless technology, what it is, how it works, and how we can use it.
  • Wednesday, March 9, 2016.  Frank, K0BRA, discussed LF antennas and plans for the AMRAD LF antenna.  Board members also elected officers.
  • Thursday, February 4, 2016. Ken, KE2N discussed the MAIPN (Mid-Atlantic IP Network) and his experiences using on-line tools to find microwave paths for wireless broadband. Check out the website at: http://www.remoteamateur.com/Home1503.aspx
  • Monday, January 11, 2016.  Note that this was a special, business meeting for various annual reports and to hold elections.  Some discussion was held about future AMRAD directions and interests, including the repeater.

Upcoming Events

  • WINTERFEST will be on Sunday, March 19, 2017 at the Northern Virginia Community College,  Annandale campus.